

# TEACHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE April 19, 2011

# **Approved Minutes**

(Approved September 20, 2011)

**Members present:** Chad Becker, Hema Ganapathy-Coleman, Mary Ellen Adams, Eric Hampton,

Rebecca Hinshaw, Sue Kiger, Catherine Tucker (chair), Kara Harris, Yong

Joon Park, Marie Theisz

**Members absent:** Steven Pontius, Sharron Watkins, Amy Walker, Jennifer Perez, Brad Venable,

Lisa Calvin, Dan Clark, Barbara Clauss

**Guest:** Myung-Ah Lee

**Ex Officio Members present:** Susan Powers, Judy Sheese

1. **Call to Order**: C. Tucker called the meeting to order at 3:35.

2. **Approval of Minutes for March 15, 2011**: E. Hampton moved to approve and H. Ganapathy-Coleman seconded. In discussion, Mary Ellen Adams questioned her inclusion as a member in the minutes, rather than a guest. Because she is taking the place of William Wilhelm this semester, she is considered a member and should be listed as such. The Minutes were unanimously approved.

3. **Old Business:** There was no old business.

#### 4. New Business:

- a) Nomination/Election of TEC Chair for 2011-2012: E. Hampton nominated R. Hinshaw for Chair and K. Harris seconded. H. Ganapathy-Coleman nominated C. Becker and C. Tucker seconded. Both nominees left the room and following a discussion and vote, R. Hinshaw was elected as the TEC Chair for 2011-2012.
- b) PE All Grade Program Revision Proposal: Information was shared concerning the PE All Grade Program Revision Proposal. The proposal reflects the new professional sequence program that should be concurrently changed in PE All Grade teacher education program. The changes reflect a reduction of 4 credit hours and avoids redundancy between professional sequence courses and PE content courses. Additionally, it was noted that there is full agreement for the changes in the P-12 program. R. Hinshaw moved to approve and S. Kiger seconded. The motion to approve the proposal passed (10-0-0).
- c) Amendment to TEC Bylaws: E. Hampton shared information concerning the Unit Assessment Planning committees and the proposal to amend the TEC Bylaws to reflect changes. He noted that this year the co-chairs (IUAPC and AUAPC) unified the Unit Assessment Planning committees' meetings, and that it worked well. The amendment notes the change in the committees from two to one Unit Assessment Planning

Committee and changes in the Committee composition. C. Tucker moved to approve and R. Hinshaw seconded. The motion passed (10-0-0).

# 5. **Dean's Report - Susan Powers**

S. Powers shared that Dean Balch is doing well and has resumed activities and duties. Also, there continues to be faculty searches and hires. Upcoming events include a reception in the Atrium for students from a Navaho Reservation (April 26th), Honors' Day (April 27th) and on May 23-24, we will host visitors associated with Teachers for a New Era. Additionally, NCATE writing teams are being formed and will work during the summer. The Graduation Reception is scheduled for Saturday morning, May 9th.

## 6. ESS Report - Judy Sheese

ESS had no report to share.

7. **Adjournment-**C. Tucker adjourned the meeting at 4:01.

Respectfully submitted by, Rebecca Hinshaw, TEC Secretary