## **Cultural Audit Committee – Task Force Transitioning**

In 2006, work began within the College, and continued throughout the summer, to determine our cultural responsiveness and overall diversity climate. A Cultural Audit Committee was formally convened to assist in these efforts in the Spring of 2007.

Members of the Committee include: Hema Ganapathy-Coleman, Denise Collins, Susan Powers, Michele Boyer, Becky Libler, Linda Sperry, Ginger Miller (Blumberg), and Brad Balch.

The audit committee's work was three-fold. First, determine appropriate means to assess the College's diversity climate and overall capacity for cultural responsiveness. This was accomplished through survey analysis, focus group interactions, and an environmental scan. Second, an executive summary of conclusions and findings were developed for the revision and reconstitution of the College's Diversity Plan. An original version of the Plan was codified in 1999, later informed by a college-wide retreat in 2005. Third, Task Force efforts were to foster and build capacity for a culture of diversity and inclusiveness – one that is consistent with our constancy of purpose statement - specifically the value of Social Justice and Diversity: Working to create environments that support and enable all members of our community to thrive.

Next-step planning focuses on sharing the IDI aggregated information with the college community in early April 2009, then convening a Diversity Plan Task Force later in the month. A half-day retreat will be planned before the conclusion of the Spring 2009 semester, including Audit and Task Force members, to ensure a smooth transition of roles/responsibilities. A 12-member committee has been recommended, composed of 4 COE faculty, 4 staff/EAP, 2 students, and 2 members external to the college. One or two

Audit Committee members should serve on the Task Force. The Task Force charge will include: 1) Analyze climate data/information, 2) Formulate a new diversity plan, and 3) Present findings to the College during the 2009-2010 Academic Year.