

TEACHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE December 11, 2012

Approved Minutes (Approved March 19, 2013)

Members present: Rebecca Hinshaw, Larry Tinnerman, Sue Kiger, Robin Thoma, Susan

Gubelman, Robin Burden, Kathryn Havercroft, Steve Gruenert, Bridget

Roberts-Pittman, Bart Hensley

Members absent: Dan Clark, Winnie Ko, Barbara Clauss, Bill Wilhelm, Kara Harris, Leah Nellis,

Solange Lopes-Murphy, Tonya Balch, Laura Bates

Ex Officio Members present: Brad Balch, Judy Sheese

1. **Call to Order**: Chair R. Hinshaw called the meeting to order at 3:35.

2. **Approval of Minutes for November 13, 2012**: Minutes approved (10-0-0).

3. **Old Business:** There was no old business.

4. New Business:

- a) UAS Course Change Proposal
 S. Kiger approved, R. Burden seconded proposal triggering TK20 change in order to be consistent with current guidelines. Passed (10-0-0)
- b) ELED 200 Course Change Proposal Objection Objection has been removed. Parliamentarian L. Tinnerman advised no action. Course change proposal will go to executive committee for vote.

5. **UAS Report:**

S. Gruenert reported that UAS will meet December 14 to review dispositions and proposals.

6. **Dean's Report:**

B. Balch announced REPA II licensure changes include transfer of control from DOE to State Board of Education, implementation of adjunct permits and educational leadership licensure. Dean Balch expressed that there is "great concern" regarding interpretation of new regulations that will affect teacher education programs and advocating and maintaining high standards currently in place.

7. **Associate Dean's Report:** No Report

8. ESS Report:

J. Sheese reported there was no new information from the ESS office.

9. **Other:**

A topical meeting concerning education majors' GPA will be conducted on the next first Tuesday of the month, February 5, 2013 at 3:30 in UH 215. Note this is a change from the January date discussed due to winter recess.

10. **Adjournment**- R. Hinshaw adjourned the meeting at 3:55.

Respectfully submitted by,
Susan Gubelman, TEC secretary