

TEACHER EDUCATION COMMITTEEMarch 19, 2013

Approved Minutes (Approved April 16, 2013)

Members present: Robin Burden, Rebecca Hinshaw, Katie Havercroft, Bart Hensley, Solange

Lopes-Murphy, Robin Thoma, Winnie Ko, Steve Gruenert, Sue Kiger, Myung-

Ah Lee, Dan Clark, Larry Tinnerman.

Members absent: Susan Gubelman, Bill Wilhelm, Kara Harris, Leah Nellis, Bridget Roberts-

Pittman, Tonya Balch, Laura Bates

Ex Officio Members present: Denise Collins, Brad Balch, Judy Sheese

1. **Call to Order**: R. Hinshaw called the meeting to order at 3:40.

- 2. **Approval of Minutes for Dec. 11, 2012:** S. Kiger moved to approve the minutes and R. Burden seconded. There was no discussion and the minutes were approved (9-0-1).
- 3. **Old Business:** There was no old business.

4. New Business:

a) Nomination/Election of TEC Chair for 2013-2014: D. Collins nominated D. Clark for Chair and Myung-Ah Lee seconded. Following a brief discussion, D. Clark was elected Chair by a unanimous vote.

5. Dean's Report - Brad Balch

Dean Balch noted that it had been a busy legislative session. He shared that a report by AACTE on changing teacher prep was coming out soon and would be of interest to all.

6. Associate Dean's Report - Denise Collins

Associate Dean Collins thanked those who worked on SPA reports. She shared that information is available concerning CAEP standards and that we may give feedback via http://caepnet.org/. She requested that our response to Suicide Prevention Training be put on the agenda under old business, for the next TEC meeting in April.

7. ESS Report - Judy Sheese

J. Sheese shared that there is no new information on REPA II and that we continue to move forward with Praxis changes and moving towards the new tests.

8. **Adjournment -** R. Hinshaw adjourned the meeting 4:07.

Respectfully submitted by, Larry Timerman, Substitute Secretary