Lavelda Goble Scholarship


Recipient must be a Linton-Stockton High School graduate majoring in the Scott College of Business at Indiana State University.

Donor Profile

Lavelda Johnson GobleJack Johnson and Lavelda Johnson Goble dedicated their professional lives to Indiana State University. In 2010, their dedication continued in the form of a bequest to the university's first comprehensive fundraising campaign. A $700,000 gift helps provide financial support to students via "March On! The Campaign for Indiana State University." Goble passed away on February 2, 2008, and the disbursement from Goble's estate, the value of scholarships set up in her name and that of her late husband will increased by eight times.

Goble worked in the university president's office from 1961 to 1987, during the tenure of Presidents Raleigh Holmstedt, Alan Rankin and Richard Landini. Johnson retired from the political science department faculty in 1982. The couple had great empathy for students and found their greatest pride in student accomplishments, according to those who knew them.

The Jack T. Johnson Political Science Scholarship is awarded to undergraduate students majoring in political science who maintain a 3.0 grade point average or higher. The Lavelda Johnson Goble Scholarship is awarded to a Linton-Stockton High School graduate enrolled in Indiana State's Donald W. Scott College of Business. Linton was Goble's hometown.

The Johnson and Goble scholarships currently provide between $1,000 and $3,000 per year. Eventually the income from the two scholarship endowments could provide full-ride scholarships for the deserving students selected to receive them.

<< Full Story >>

Past Recipients

Brianna Henico, and Thomas Wilson, 2010

Applications for the scholarships and other awards on these pages should be made through The Branch. Clicking the link will take you to The Branch instruction page.

Scholarships for Business Programs